So long August

I’ve never really liked August.

As a child, it was a month of ending. The holidays would come to a close, my freedom would gradually diminish, and newly formed friendships would end. As I grew older, I would work through the holidays but still August was a month apart. Friends and family would visit, setting my routine off-balance, the quieter roads would get incrementally busier as my environment prepared itself for the return of normality in September. And I would inevitably feel like a fish flapping frantically on the beach, trying to get back in the water.

This year has been no different. August came. August went.
Friends visited, family stopped over, days out were enjoyed, a new job was begun. And I enjoyed it all. But throughout the period, I felt like I was constantly catching up with time. The new job didn’t help. My commute time more than doubled and my hours changed from late evenings to early mornings. Looking back, it’s easy to understand why I was so out-of-sync last month. I was just tired from all the changes, and failing to find a new routine in a month that defies the very word.

Which is why nothing happened on the blog. I had a lot of plans, still do, but nothing got written, nothing got edited. August is gone now and this is about to change. I have a lot to share, from new projects ready to be launched and experiences waiting to be shared, the months ahead are going to be busy.

I hope August has been less of a turbulent month for you. What did you get up to?

7 thoughts on “So long August

  1. I feel you in this. My whole summer has been busy, but August has been by far the month with the most changes. Between holidays (which meant running everywhere to see everyone in the family), to moving into a new country and settling it, it has not been easy all the time. But September is upon us, it’s back to school, it’s my birthday. A new month to get back on track. πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. I hope September brings a bit more space and time to your life! August was definitely not quite the same kind of busy for me. It was great to catch up with you and make plans… πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Pingback: Introducing… well… me | Beste Glatisant

Leave a Comment

