Learning Portuguese and other 2017 goals

At the beginning of the year I didn’t make resolutions. I had vague ideas of things I want to achieve in 2017 but I didn’t vow to make them happen. This tends to put too much pressure on me and I end up not sticking to my goals.

So as the new year chimed, I let my ideas simmer and grow over January, finding time for them in my everyday life, seeing what was going to work and what wasn’t.

A month later, I’m happy to report that the goals that truly mattered have been incorporated into my life. Some are still unfulfilled, but I’m holding on to them and hoping to see them come to fruition later in the year.

In no particular order, here is what I’ve been up to:

  • Learn European Portuguese


    I’m making videos about my learning journey. It’s both a way to connect with other learners and assess my progress.
    Follow me on YouTube if that’s of any interest to you.
  • Record a sound every day


    I never planned for this goal, but as I began to take a photo every day, I thought it would be cool to add sounds to the themes. This however proved too difficult and I ended up simply recording random sounds. This is harder than taking a photo every day but I really want to make this happen. It is forcing me to focus on sounds more often, to really listen, and to make full use of my recording equipment. It’s only been a month but I already feel like I’ve learned a lot.
    Follow me on SoundCloud if you never want to miss one of my recordings.

Other goals include setting up a new blog, sharing the sounds and story from my journey through Spain and Portugal, going on a longboard microadventure, walking the West Highland Way with Zoe and Jenni, exploring the areas around my new home, and reading a book by a Portuguese author every month.

Have you set up goals and resolutions for the new year? If yes, how are you doing with them?

16 thoughts on “Learning Portuguese and other 2017 goals

  1. Congratulations on keeping your resolutions! It all sounds quite exciting. 😀
    I have not really made any resolution, but I’m trying to get a grip on my life and not push everything to the following day. It’s a work in progress, but I am getting some results. I finally did my accounting yesterday for example (which I had not done since June for my current account and since mid 2015 for the others). Let’s see how this year goes, shall we? 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks 🙂 I think breaking them down into small chunks has helped a lot too. Photo and sound is a daily thing but I don’t envision the whole 365 days. It’s a day at a time, sometimes with a few days planning. The same goes with learning Portuguese. It’s a weekly thing. And it’s all been very fun so far, so that has helped a lot too.

      Good luck with your goal. It’s hard not to push everything to the next day, isn’t it?
      Well done on doing your accounting. I’m super impressed. I’ve given up on it years ago. Instead I check my online statement on a weekly basis to check everything is correct. It seems easier than doing it on paper somehow.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I really love the language and not being able to live in the country, I find it a good way to get to know Portugal more intimately.
      I’ll let you know when I’ll have language questions then ^^ Thanks a lot for offering your help 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I set some goals that were unrealistic and unsuited to my desired lifestyle (when will I learn). But having set those aside I am now working successfully on my actual dream of continuing to travel as often as possible while having a meaningful existence when I’m not 🙂 .

    It’s all about keeping the balance for me and not allowing one aspect of my life to dominate

    Like

    • It sounds like you’ve realised soon enough that your goals weren’t suited to the lifestyle you actually want 🙂 So maybe that’s learning 😉 Otherwise you could have spent the whole year chasing goals that didn’t suit you.

      Keeping a balance is good. That’s something I’ve been trying to implement in my everyday life ever since coming back from my cycle journey. It’s difficult to do, but the benefits are huge.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your sounds (surprise, surprise!) and over the past few months you’ve inspired me to listen more closely when I’m out and about, too – to really listen as hard as I look, to luxuriate in the soundscapes around me as I would if I was seeing a beautiful landscape or piece of architecture.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This makes me very happy 😊 Sharing my sounds and organising the sound of the month challenge is in part because I’d like people to listen more. So every time somebody tells me they are now more sound aware, it’s a little bit of reward for doing it.

      Like

  4. I find it so incredibly helpful to have specific goals, and to share them. I have several goals that are based on races this year, as well as archery, writing, and a few others.

    So far, I’m actually a little overwhelmed. I’m not the best at scheduling my time, and I’m having to improve at my time-management skills to get in all the necessary training, practice, writing, and exploring.

    I think I’m improving and that I’m on track for achieving my goals, but I still have a long way to go!

    Sounds like you’ve set some great goals for yourself this year, and I’m excited to see the results!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. Specific goals are much better than general ones. They bring a clarity and a focus that a general idea can’t. Sharing as you said is also important. It makes you accountable (which was one of the reasons I began my blog).

      But one thing I’ve learned is that it’s possible to have too many goals at once. Sometimes it’s not about managing your time to fit all your goals, but managing your time and accept that some goals will have to wait for another year/time of your life.

      Like

  5. Pingback: An update on my 2017 goals | Beste Glatisant

Leave a Comment

