Pedalling Portugal – Photo report

In early March 2016, I found myself in a deserted coach station in Spain. At my feet lay my bike, wrapped in industrial size bin bags. Next to it, my four panniers rested in a line ready to be mounted on the racks. And I stood in front of them, the reality of my journey slowly sinking in. Eventually I hooked the panniers to their rightful place. I got on the bike and off I went. This is what I saw.
For 32 weeks, I will post a batch of photos every Monday morning.
Later words and sounds will come. But for now, I’m going to share what I experienced through the photos I took. If you miss a post, go to this page to find all the links.

I left Spain behind and rolled into Portugal, the rain and mist of Spring forgotten as the sun began to warm my skin and the blue water of the seaside made me feel like Summer was coming.

8 thoughts on “Pedalling Portugal – Photo report

  1. Hi Allysse, i’m really enjoying your blog. We’re thinking of doing a cycle tour of Portugal in the spring. Normally we wild camp and so we were wondering did you wild camp while you were there?

    Like

    • I’m glad you’ve been enjoying the blog 🙂

      I often wild camped. It’s very easy to do in most of Portugal. I’ve found the Alentejo region to be the best for it. There are a lot of artificial lakes there and you can sleep around most of them. Some are really well used by travellers so have some shower (though usually cold) and toilet. But it still remains pristine and wild 🙂
      Near the seaside I’ve often slept on cliff tops. You can check WarmShowers too. They are a good number north of Lisbon.
      Municipal campsites are really cheap too. I rarely paid more than 5€. The private ones are double to triple that price.

      I hope this helps.
      Do you have an itinerary/vague plan for your tour?

      Liked by 1 person

      • no definite plan yet Allysse. It’ll be a relatively short tour, maybe 3 weeks. Ideally, it’d be great to get the ferry from Ireland but there is no direct route, so we’ll probably be flying into Lisbon and hitting off from there.

        Like

      • I had the same trouble from England. There used to be a ferry going to Faro but it seems to have sadly been discontinued…

        I’d recommend going south and/or inland from Lisbon if you prefer to tour in an environment that is less populated and where nature has more space. North of Lisbon is much more populated (but still very beautiful in its own right) – albeit for the mountains.

        Like

    • Hopefully it’ll be fine 🙂
      Last year it was warm enough when I went to Portugal for the first time (in the Algarve). But this year was freezing cold when I went there (although I was in Spain at the time).

      Will you share your journey on your blog? I’d love to see your photos and read of your experiences there 🙂

      Like

Leave a Comment

