Pedalling Portugal – Photo report

In early March 2016, I found myself in a deserted coach station in Spain. At my feet lay my bike, wrapped in industrial size bin bags. Next to it, my four panniers rested in a line ready to be mounted on the racks. And I stood in front of them, the reality of my journey slowly sinking in. Eventually I hooked the panniers to their rightful place. I got on the bike and off I went. This is what I saw.
For 32 weeks, I will post a batch of photos every Monday morning.
Later words and sounds will come. But for now, I’m going to share what I experienced through the photos I took. If you miss a post, go to this page to find all the links.

Before going into my photos of Portugal, here is a brief interlude with some ruins I’ve seen along the way, learning a little about the histories of the places I explored.

I’ve been asked a few times, so I thought I’d add the locations of the photos:

  • 1st photo = an altar on the road to the ancient city of Cáparra in Spain. Sadly I don’t have more info. There was none when I was there and no one around to ask.
  • 2nd photo = the ruins of the ancient city of Cáparra in Spain. It is on the Via de la Plata.
  • 3rd photo = the remains of a roman bridge at Alconétar in Spain.
  • 4th photo = the castle of Montemolin in Spain.
  • 5th photo = the remains of the aqueduc in Merida in Spain.
  • 6th photo = the castle of Belver by the Tejo river in Portugal.
  • 7th photo = the remains of a medieval necropolis at the barragem de Nisa.
  • 8th photo = a burial chamber in Carmonita in Spain (Extremadura).
  • 9th photo = a burial chamber between Ortiga and Belver in Portugal.
7 thoughts on “Pedalling Portugal – Photo report

    • They really were 🙂 It was amazing to see them dotted about the landscape. Some of them had become tourists attractions, but most were just there, a bit of history left for passers by to admire.

      In order they are:
      1st photo = an altar on the road to the ancient city of Cáparra in Spain. Sadly I don’t have more info. There was none when I was there and no one around to ask.
      2nd photo = the ruins of the ancient city of Cáparra in Spain. It is on the Via de la Plata.
      3rd photo = the remains of a roman bridge at Alconétar in Spain.
      4th photo = the castle of Montemolin in Spain.
      5th photo = the remains of the aqueduc in Merida in Spain.
      6th photo = the castle of Belver by the Tejo river in Portugal.
      7th photo = the remains of a medieval necropolis at the barragem de Nisa.
      8th photo = a burial chamber in Carmonita in Spain (Extremadura).
      9th photo = a burial chamber between Ortiga and Belver in Portugal.

      Like

  1. Well I’m trying to guess where you took the photos and I’m completely out of clues! I have to admit I am not an expert on Roman Ruins here in Portugal. I would say Northern Alentejo, maybe Ammaia near Marvão?

    Like

    • Your guess is actually quite good 🙂
      Although some of the photos are from Spain. In order they are:
      1st photo = an altar on the road to the ancient city of Cáparra in Spain. Sadly I don’t have more info. There was none when I was there and no one around to ask.
      2nd photo = the ruins of the ancient city of Cáparra in Spain. It is on the Via de la Plata.
      3rd photo = the remains of a roman bridge at Alconétar in Spain.
      4th photo = the castle of Montemolin in Spain.
      5th photo = the remains of the aqueduc in Merida in Spain.
      6th photo = the castle of Belver by the Tejo river in Portugal.
      7th photo = the remains of a medieval necropolis at the barragem de Nisa.
      8th photo = a burial chamber in Carmonita in Spain (Extremadura).
      9th photo = a burial chamber between Ortiga and Belver in Portugal.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was not that far in the end 😉 I will definitely visit that area! I went to Merida 3 years ago and for some reason the aqueduct seemed so familiar and I couldn’t remember from where, shame on me :p

        Like

      • I definitely recommend the area around Ortiga/Belver if you’ve never been.
        The valley carved by the Tejo is gorgeous and there’s some lovely walks in the area (and river beaches too).
        If you like camping, there is a great site in Barragem (that’s where I stayed). It’s very friendly and apparently quite lively in the week-end (when the weather is nice).

        Have you ever been around Nisa? It’s a great part too. The mountains are beautiful and the town of Castelo de Vide is definitely worth a stop.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I’ve been to Nisa, Castelo de Vide and Marvão. A couple who is close friends with my parents is from near Marvão and we spent some time there, I really like that area! It’s a completely different side of Alentejo with the mountain of São Mamede. I had on my vision board for 2017 camping in Barragem de Belver but didn’t happen, going to Norway screwed all my plans for travel in Portugal but it was for a good reason 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

