A walk along the Beverley Brook

The Beverley Brook is a minor English river in London. It begins near Worcester Park Station and ends just above Putney Embankment where it flows into the Thames. It lives for 8.9 miles and for 6.5 miles there is a (more or less) waymarked path following it. I walked along it last week-end and made this audio slideshow from my experience.


If you prefer YouTube, you can watch it at this link.

More photos from the walk can be seen on my Flickr account.

If you’re tempted to go on this walk, Merton Council has a handy downloadable guide for you.

4 thoughts on “A walk along the Beverley Brook

  1. Oh, I love this! I love the idea of the walk and I love hearing your voice telling me the story of your walk. I’m reading “Silt Road” by Charles Rangeley-Wilson at the moment – a book about a river that disappears in places under urban development. Your walk, with its memories of the river in the names of streets (Priests Bridge), reminded me of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, it’s been a fun video to do 🙂 I’m glad to read you’ve enjoyed it.

      It was fascinating to see how the river was (or not) allowed space in the urban landscape. Many times there were traces of it in the place names (there were also a few Beverley Street/Road) but no signs of the river. And often, it was allowed to pass but mostly hidden from sights by flats and houses.

      Silt Road sounds good. I’ll definitely give it a go when I’ll be finished with my current reads.

      Like

  2. That was great Allysse – I really enjoyed it. Beverley Brook features in Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch – “Beverley Brook; “daughter” of Mama Thames and goddess of a small river in South London.” (wikipedia). It’s a great book but if you haven’t read it you will guess from that wiki quote that it is fiction not fact 😉

    Like

Leave a Comment

