Pedalling Portugal – Reading list

I have always been an avid ready. As a child, I was known to many family friends as ‘that kid reading a book in the corner‘. I never lost this love affair with books even if there have been years when my enthusiasm has flagged and I didn’t read much.

Going to Portugal, I expect to have a lot of time to read, and I intend to make the most of that time. There are masses of books I want to read but never get around to because they require more dedication than others for me to fully get into them and enjoy them. More often than not, those books are classics. So to remedy this issue, I’ve been building a reading list for Portugal.

Here it is:

  • Le Morte d’Arthur by Thomas Malory
  • Metamorphosis by Ovid (this one will actually be a reread)
  • Notre Dame de Paris by Victor Hugo
  • Chrétien de Troyes Arthurian romances (some will be reread)
  • A selection of books by José Saramago

I don’t really think I’m going to get through them all, but I’d like to give them a chance. It is also evident that I won’t always be in the mood for such reading, so for light entertainment, I’m also taking:

  • As many Maigret stories by George Siménon I can get my hands on
  • A selection of Agatha Christie novels
  • A selection of Robert Louis Stevenson novels and essays
  • Legends, folklore, and myths from Portugal (and other countries)
  • A selection of modern Arthurian novels
  • A selection of H.G. Wells and Jules Verne novels
  • A mix of other books comprising noirs, essays, travel writing, young adult literature, science-fiction and other random books

This list is a work in progress and at the moment I am very dependent on what I already have available on my e-reader. What book would you recommend? Fiction or non-fiction I am open to all suggestions.

logo

Pedalling Portugal will begin in March 2016. For more information about this upcoming trip, visit this page.

4 thoughts on “Pedalling Portugal – Reading list

  1. I’ve always been a fan of Arthurian legend, and feel that it’s nice to have in your stable, especially when on an adventure. Right now I’m on a big Jack Kerouac kick; he was a favorite of mine as a teen and an undergraduate, and re-reading his work is blending really well with my current adventurer attitude. On the Road is probably his most popular, but I actually prefer The Dharma Bums. It’s heavy on the Buddhism which can be a little confusing, but for pure joy at being out in the world, it’s hard to beat. The novel is also laden with Americana however, so it might not jive well with Portugal. I also recommend anything by Daniel Quinn, another of my favorite authors. For this particular trip, I’d suggest Beyond Civilization. It’s a short read, broken into small couple-page-long ideas about different ways to live in the world. I enjoy it when traveling, because it reminds me to be open to different lifestyles.

    Anyway, you seem to have a strong reading list already. Some of the titles I am familiar with, others not so much. I hope that while in Portugal you have enough time to enjoy reading, but not too much time!

    Like

    • Thanks for the suggestions 🙂
      I’ve actually never read Jack Kerouac. I keep meaning to but somehow never quite get to it. I’ll be sure to add him to my e-reader. Who knows, maybe I’ll finally read him while in Portugal.
      Beyond Civilization sounds fascinating. I’ll be sure to add it to my reading list too 🙂

      Thanks 🙂 I have no illusion that I won’t get through all those books. I might even not end up reading much at all (which I doubt but you never know. I’m not going there to read after all).

      Like

Leave a Comment

