Moment of zen

Living in London, I don’t spend a lot of time on a beach. But it is less than 70 miles away so it would be ridiculous not to travel there when an oportunity arise. And so, on the last week-end of August, I found myself in Hastings. It was a bank holiday and I had three days to explore. I could have had a microadventure, after all I hadn’t slept outdoors that month and this was my last chance. But I decided not to. Instead, I took long walks on the cliffs by the coast, I explored the old streets of Hastings, and lay on the beach thinking of nothing and enjoying the last of the Summer holidays.

All the while, I was conscious that I had missed a month in my year of microadventure. I tried not to let it bother me, but it did. So when I remembered, Jonathan (from In Which I) microadventure challenge, I rose to the task. His microadventure challenges are simple. There are no rules, not even a need to spend a night under the stars. In August, the theme was ‘Explore a border’. This was perfect. I was after all at the frontier between land and water, between the UK and France. To make it more of a challenge, I decided to make a short film about the sea. I kept it simple, focused on the water meditative aspect and created this video.

Moment of zen from Allysse Riordan on Vimeo.

12 thoughts on “Moment of zen

  1. hey there, I finally made it and popped over to your blog to make a few comments on your wonderful posts- I am sorry for needing that much time πŸ˜„ I was sooo jet-lagged -.-
    I love the seaside. In central Germany it’s quite hard to get there but whenever I am at the beach I feel like total relaxed and… Zen describes it quite well πŸ˜‰ You could leave me there for hours and I would barely recognize that πŸ˜‰
    I really like the video you took πŸ˜€ It is wonderful… the sound of the waves…

    Like

  2. Great video and post! I just went to Hastings a few days ago on Saturday. I lived in Hastings for 10 years so I am very familiar with the place, some lovely natural spots there.

    PS I would love to go on a Microadventure next time you’re off in one. Let me know if you plan to head out and I’d be happy to meet up x

    Like

    • Thanks πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the post.
      Hastings was great. I loved the cliff walks I took and the deserted beach I found this way.

      PS: That’d be great πŸ™‚ I’ve been thinking of doing something later this month. Are you free on a week-end in October? I can’t do the one coming up as I’ll be walking the Lyke Wake Walk.
      Do you have anywhere in mind?
      Feel free to drop me a line via my contact form. It’ll be easier to get organised via e-mails than comments πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I thoroughly enjoyed your video. The sound of the ocean has always soothed my mind, so thanks for sharing- I needed it! As always, I love what you’ve written, and I’m grateful I had the opportunity to read it. Thank you again for sharing!

    Like

  4. Pingback: A year of microadventure comes to an end | Beste Glatisant

Leave a Comment

