30 Days Wild Challenge

3-800x474

The Wildlife Trusts have launched 30 Days Wild to encourage all of us to make room for nature in our lives this month.

It is fair to say that I spend a lot of time outdoors already, but I will admit of being guilty of spending too much time inside during the week. I work in an office and too often I take the straight route home instead of meandering through my local park and regaining the main road via a river path. So this June, I will try to integrate nature and the outdoors more in my life.

I can’t promise to do something everyday but I will try. The Wildlife Trusts have after all made things easy by publishing this handy list of ideas from which to take inspiration.

Here is what I’m planning to do:

  • Walk barefoot in the wild more often.
  • Admire the setting sun over my corner of London more often.
  • Take the long way home often.
  • Photograph wildlife more.
  • Remember to pay attention to urban wildness.
  • Look up to the sky more often.
  • Nap in the grass.
  • Give my full attention to the birds in the tree outside of my windows for more than a minute.
  • Have lunch in my local park.
  • Walk at night in the Seven Sisters Country Park.
  • In Northern Ireland: wild camp, take a long coastal walk, balance rocks on the beach, swim in the sea.
  • Wear a flower in my hair.
  • Record the sounds of Richmond Park for a day.
  • Visit Kew Gardens.
  • Start planning and digging a pond for my garden.
  • Watch wildlife documentaries again and focus on the nature book on my to-read pile.
  • Dance in a downpour.
  • Write blog posts in my garden not on my sofa.
  • Dangle my feet in rivers and canals.
  • Meditate in a wild place.
  • Inhale a scent.
  • Cuddle trees.
  • Blog about wildlife.

I am expecting to smile and relax more this month, but most of all I hope to remind myself that although I live in a busy city, the wild is never far away. This is a lesson I sadly always forget as I get carried away by the flow of city life. I need to slow down again and pay attention to what’s around me.

One thought on “30 Days Wild Challenge

  1. Pingback: A month of little everyday wildness | Beste Glatisant

Leave a Comment

