January microadventure: Start small

At the start of 2015, I pledged to take part in a year of microadventure. But sleeping outdoors in January seemed plain ridiculous and I found myself watching the weather carefully, hoping it would keep raining every night which would give me the perfect excuse to bail out. So I was mildly annoyed last week when BBC weather insisted on showing me a clear sky for the night of the 16th of January. On top of being a clear night, it was also a Friday night. I wouldn’t even have to go to work the following day.

I had pledged. And this being January it could be my only dry opportunity so I prepared myself. I packed my bag, I ate a warm meal, read for a bit and then it was time to go. But before leaving, I decided to try something new. Instead of writing about my bivvy, I would record it.

I apologise in advance for the variable quality of sound and muddled English at time – I was sleepy and cold.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 thoughts on “January microadventure: Start small

  1. Love this post, the audio is a lovely idea and you’re a natural at it! I was all ready for my first winter wild camp last weekend and then I came down with the flu and had to cancel, so I’m going to miss a January camp, which is annoying. I’ve plans though for a bivvy on the north Norfolk coast in Feburary, can’t wait : )

    Like

  2. Pingback: Wild camping microadventure reports round-up for January 2015

    • Thanks.

      I felt pretty safe in my local park. I’ve crossed it and wandered around at night in it before and have always been fine. But I do know it’s not the safest place for wild camping. As the days are getting longer, I intend to travel farther away and outside of cities for my next wild camps (well except this month but I’m just staying in my garden for that one).

      Like

  3. Pingback: A year of microadventure comes to an end | Beste Glatisant

Leave a Comment

