InCoWriMo pledge

I, Allysse Riordan, clearly see the benefits of InCoWriMo participation, not only to me personally, but also to those that will receive my correspondence. InCoWriMo is a beneficial endeavour and worthy of my full attention. I hereby pledge to hand-write and mail/deliver one letter, card, note or postcard every day during the month of February.

You are supposed to say this aloud, and I have, but I also wanted to state it here to commit officially and publicly to it.

It has been a long time since I have hand-written letters (Christmas cards don’t count) and I miss it. It is a slow process which I often find very frustrating but also incredibly rewarding. It forces me to think slower. It focuses and organises my thoughts. It is also more personal, more revealing, as you can witness my handwriting getting sloppier towards the end as I try to go faster, you can see the scratches and mistakes I’ve made. The virtual world and a computer keyboard takes all of this away. I like my keyboards and how easy they have become to navigate, the anonymity they give me, and the world they have opened along the Internet paths, but I do miss the slowness of letter writing at times.

So for a month, I will get reacquainted with pen and paper to communicate with people by participating in InCoWriMo.

PS: I still don’t have a full calendar for recipients of letter. Don’t hesitate to let me know if you’d like to receive a hand-written letter from a stranger sometime in February.

One thought on “InCoWriMo pledge

  1. Pingback: InCoWriMo – Take 2 | Beste Glatisant

Leave a Comment

